h1

Open the Pod Bay Doors HAL.

March 19, 2008

I ran yesterday nearly 3 miles, but the last 3/4 of a mile was in pain. Granted, the run was full of hills, but it still feels like a setback. I’ll try again tomorrow. Today is a circuit day.

Arthur C. Clarke passed away. If it weren’t for him, maybe the title of this blog would lack the word “Geek.”

2001: A space Odyssey is a monumental book and film. Rendezvous With Rama is one of the alltime great science fiction stories. These stories took my imagination to new places, places I had no idea existed.

I fell in love with science fiction, really fell in love, after seeing 2001. I still sing “Daisy…Daisy,” whenever I hear that name. And HAL. There’s not much else to say about that creepy voice except I had a college professor who sounded just like HAL. I was creeped out every day.

Arthur brought us so many ideas that later became reality, from geosynchronous manmande satellites to artificial intelligence piloting spacecraft. Sure AI was around before HAL, but never in that same vein.

The movie Independence Day stole freely from his works. Arthur saw the future, held it with both hands and tried to show it to the rest of us.

Arthur, wherever you are now, I hope “It’s full of Stars.”

Leave a comment