h1

TIART – Backwards

February 26, 2009

This week’s TIART asks, nay orders us to ask the question and give the answer. I’ll do a few but only charge you for one.

1. What are the winning lottery numbers?
14, 8, 27, 35, 42(the answer to life, the universe and everything), and 25.

2. When running long runs should I start slow or just go out at my full pace?
I find starting just under your goal pace is a good way to warm up. It’ll also conserve some energy for the end. Your time might even improve because you’ll have more kick at the end.

3. What was up with Lost last night? Did they answer any questions?
It was intense. And Weird. They gave plenty of answers, but I don’t know the questions they were answering.

4. How often should I take gels on long runs?
I use ’em every 5-8 miles, depending on the length of the run and how I’m feeling.

5. Hydration – How much should I drink?
I’ve found I do best drinking every 15 minutes or so on long runs. Find whatever works for you.

6. How can I work “Too Legit To Quit” into a conversation?
That’s a tough one since MC Hammer hasn’t been relevant in 15 years. Try “I was having a tough time on this project, but I completed it because I’m too legit to quit.”

7. What should my goal pace be in the Rock Creek Marathon in May?
Slower than mine. It’s not nice to pass people who give you advice.

8. How long should I rest with an injury?
As long as necessary. Sometimes that means cutting your running completely, other times just cutting it down. Take it slow. Running less now means running more later.

9. Rock Creek? I thought you were doing the Atlanta ING in March? What gives? Are you scared? I bet you’re scared.
Shut up. I was planning on ING, but some issues in the ol’ personal life are better suited if I have the weeks leading up to ING free. Instead I’m doing the Rock Creek Trail Marathon, site of my first half marathon last year.

10. What’s the best advice you can give a new runner?
Greasy food before a run…not a good plan.

6 comments

  1. Those are some good questions! I am having so much trouble not running with this stupid injury!! Thanks for the lotto numbers! lol


  2. I love the MC Hammer stuff. Hilarious! Good running advice, though


  3. Ooh, if you mentioned it before, I missed that you’re doing Rock Creek! That’s exciting. Hopefully it will be a lot more forgiving than on your legs than 26.2 miles of pavement, too (that’s what I was thinking w/ my trail marathon).


  4. Funny post. You gave some great advice.
    I agree, personal life always has to come first before a race..good luck, so exciting!


  5. Hilarious post!

    Yeah – Lost had me befuddled last night. I think I need to watch it again.


  6. LOL… If I played the lottery I’d play those.



Leave a comment