h1

Running Wide Open

March 17, 2008

Yesterday I went to the park with the intention of seeing just how fast I could run three miles. I’m a little over a month away from the challenge and I wanted to know exactly what I could do.

I started off a little faster than I should have, but I pushed on and finished the first mile in 7:40. The next two miles were about the same pace, perhaps a touch slower. I was chugging at the end, but I finished in just over 23 minutes. My goal was around 24 minutes.

I’m very happy with the pace, but I need to keep pushing since the run will be after the other events. Overall, it was a good run, but I need to work on keeping my speed up.

Today will probably have to be an off day. I’d like to work out tonight, but it’s tough since I don’t make it home from work and Kiwanis until after 8:30. I don’t mind working out late, but spending time with my wife will take precedent.

Tuesday I’ll hit the weights again and Wednesday will be another run. Probably speed work at the park.

My friend and I draft our team tomorrow for fantasy baseball. It’s gonna be a blast. I absolutely can’t wait for the season to start.

2 comments

  1. joe has a fun filled evening of the bachelor to look forward to tonight!


  2. I sometimes struggle to make sure that I’m sticking to my training but also not neglecting my personal relationships! It’s amazing how it can overtake everything. Good for you for keeping things in perspective. And congrats on that pace, great job.



Leave a comment